Wednesday, 23 February 2011

READ: SRQ018: Morris Cowan

After catching the wind and floating into our attention span with his releases on Wigflex's first 3 split releases Taylor has a new album coming and a new moniker to release it under. Taken from his middle names, whereas Taylor was his surname, Morris Cowan will release Circa on Zaubernuss, a sub label of German imprint, Traum.

We made him the subject of the February instalment of our Quietus column after he sent us the music and to quote ourselves his "compositions are sprawling 7 minute-plus slices of electronica, set firmly at the techno tempo, they're extra melodic, working away from the heat and intensity of a dancefloor as well as they do on it. Much like his Wigflex counterpart Hizatron, Taylor crafts a sound set completely his own, setting his kick drums back a little so that the melody draws the focus."

READ: SRQ018 - Patience and Progress with Morris Cowan

To live alongside the article he kindly put together a mix showcasing his production work which we've packaged up as part one of our 70th Sonic Router Mix. Stream only at this time it features a load of album tracks and many an unreleased gem from his hard drive...

STREAM: Morris Cowan - Sonic Router Mix #70.1


1. Taylor – CMB [Super]
2. Taylor – Noob [On The Edge]
3. Morris Cowan – Flutterby [forthcoming Zaubernuss]
4. Morris Cowan – Sunnyville [forthcoming Zaubernuss]
5. Morris Cowan – Magnetor [forthcoming Zaubernuss]
6. Morris Cowan – Conflate [forthcoming Zaubernuss]
7. Morris Cowan – The Good Ship Fellow [Connect for Music]
8. Thomas Bjerring – Ice (Morris Cowan Remix) [Traum]
9. Morris Cowan – Afield [Super]

...but to run as his entry in our humble mix series he's today provided a downloadable mix, or SR #70.2, for your enjoyment. Described in his own words as "house/boogie tempo for the most part.. it's a mix, but i'm not quite sure what it is," its the second part of the duo of mixes he provided in lieu of his debut album and this being our 2nd birthday month.

DOWNLOAD: Morris Cowan - Sonic Router Mix #70.2


1. Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs - Waulking Song (Lone Remix) [Greco-Roman]
2. Angelo Battilani - Red Maple Leaf (Vaghe Stelle Remix Tool) [Margot]
3. Sebastian Mullaert - Music Becomes A Function [Mule Electronic]
4. Margot - H2 [Border Community]
5. Applescall - All Sparkles [Manual Music]
6. Arnaud Rebotini - The Spirit of Boogie [Process Recordings]
7. Roland M. Dill - Baked Potato [Trapez]
8. Deep Space Orchestra - Streetlights [Applied Rhythm Technology]
9. Lucy - Lav (Peter van Hoesen Remix) [Stroboscopic Artifacts]
10. Mig Dfoe - Amantea [Zaubernuss]


No comments:

Post a Comment