Friday, 29 October 2010

COMPETITION: Win Copies of Soul Jazz's Riddim Box

After the unveiling of their Future Bass compilation - something of an emphatic compilation of exactly that, future bass music (including producers like Distal, Randomer and Untold amongst others) – Soul Jazz Records are outing a similar collection of UK Funky. Not so obsessed with that next shit, Riddim Box is a 2 CD collection of classic dancefloor cuts that epitomise the club sound of funky - much like their previous series Box Of Dub of Steppah’s Delight have done.

Being compiled by Alex Stevenson (whose name you might recall from our interview around the release of the Brownswood Electr*c compilation) and Deep Medi’s Kris Jones it features a lot of cuts you might have missed like the instrumental of Donae’o’s ‘African Warrior’ or Zumen and Aaron Phiri’s ‘Rolexx,’ as well as some classic scene starters like Hardhouse Banton’s ‘Sirens’ and Kode9’s ‘Black Sun.’

Titled after the NB Funky track of the same name, which features on CD1, it’s been put together with love and a dedication to getting the order and styling just right. Put simply it’s a succinctly stylized snapshot of the sound of 2010, some of that raw, snare heavy dance music that has infected almost every dance in the last 12 months.

The good news is we’ve been given 3 copies to give away. To win a copy just email us the answer to the following question by 8th November.

Q: Soul Jazz operates out of which Soho based record store?



01. Altered Natives - Rass Out
02. MJ Cole - Volcano Riddim
03. NB Funky - Riddim Box
04. Tubby T - Ready She Ready (Seiji Remix)
05. Sunship feat. Warrior Queen - Almighty Father (Solid Groove Underground Souljah Mix)
06. Zumen Feat. Leafnuts and Aaron Phiri - Rolexx
07. Hard House Banton - Sirens
08. Ghosts On Tape - Predator Mode (Roska Remix)
09. Donae'o - African Warrior (Instrumental)

01. Stereotyp Meets Al Haca - Blaze N' Cook (Radio Slave remix)
02. Kode9 - Black Sun
03. Lil Silva - Pulse vs. Flex
04. LV Feat. Rubi Dan and Errol Bellot - Crossfire
05. Omar and Zed Bias - Dancing (Instrumental)
06. D-Malice - Gabryelle (Refix)
07. Grievous Angel - Move Down Low (Dubplate Mix)
08. DVA - Natty
09. Shystie - Pull It (Ill Blu Remix Instrumental)
10. Crazy Cousinz – Attract

Out: 8th November on Soul Jazz Recordings

No comments:

Post a Comment